2014 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Candidates Announced

The finalists for induction into the 2014 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame were revealed.

Naismith Hall of Fame

Naismith Hall of Fame

Here are the candidates:

  • Tim Hardaway – five-time All-Star, 14th in assists all-time and 12th in 3-point field goals
  • Spencer Haywood – five-time All-Star, NBA Champion in (79-80 season)
  • Kevin Johnson – three-time All-Star, 18th in assists all-time and 6th in assists per game all-time, also influential in keeping the Kings in Sacramento (my personal favorite)
  • Harley Redin – coach of Wayland Baptist University’s women’s team, who won 131 games in a row in the 1950s
  • Mitch Richmond – six-time All-Star, NBA Champion (2001-02 season), 36th in points per game all-time
  • Nolan Richardson – only coach ever to win a NCAA National Championship, a NIT Championship and a Junior College Championship, best known for leading Arkansas to the 1994 National Championship
  • Eddie Sutton – coached for 36 years in the NCAA with an 804-327 record and three Final Four appearances
  • Gary Williams – coached Maryland to the 2002 NCAA National Title and had a 668-360 career record
  • Alonzo Mourning – seven-time All-Star, NBA Champion (2005-06 season), 12th in blocked shots all-time and 6th in blocked shots per game all-time

The Naismith Hall of Fame is for the game of basketball, not only the NBA.  The 2013 class included Bernard King, Gary Payton, Richie Guerin, Dawn Staley, Oscar Schmidt, Russ Granik, and Edwin Henderson.  A finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The inductees will be announced in April 2014.

Five people have been announced as direct elects for 2014: David Stern, Nat Clifton, Guy Rodgers, Bob Leonard, and Sarunas Marciulionis.

Please post your thoughts on who you think may or may not get in.

Jordan Powers

Posted in Basketball